Event Preview Rnd 5 2010/11 MSC NZ F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series

The battle for 2010/11 MSC F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series honours returns to Invercargill's Teretonga Park circuit this year with the Evolution Motorsport Classic Speedfest meeting hosting the penultimate round this weekend.

'King' Kenny Smith is again the man to beat, the hard-driving veteran gunning for his third straight title in his Lola T430.

Smith won the Lady Wigram Trophy race for a record-equaling fourth time at the Christchurch Casino-backed opening round of the 2010/11 MSC series at Powerbuilt Tools Raceway in October last year and heads south with a four point lead in the series standings over Dunedin driver Steve Ross (McRae GM1) and a 24-point buffer over third placed series young gun Michael Lyons (Lola T400).

It's been a busy season so far for Smith, the now 69-year-old contesting his 53rd consecutive national motor racing season, racing four different cars at the two New Zealand Festival of Motor Racing - Chris Amon meetings at Hampton Downs in January, before heading south for the fourth round of the MSC F5000 series at the annual Skope Classic at Christchurch's Powerbuilt Tools Raceway at Ruapuna Park two weeks ago then back up to Feilding's Manfeild circuit to contest his 48th New Zealand Grand Prix last weekend.

Though some of the overseas drivers who shipped their cars down under for the two NZ Festival of Motor Racing - Chris Amon meetings have returned home, the Evolution Motorsport Classic Speedfest meeting at Teretonga will still be bolstered by the presence of top UK-based F5000 class drivers Peter Dunn (March 72\3A), Michael Whatley (Surtees TS8) Mark Dwyer, (Lola T400) and Greg Thornton (Chevron B24) as well as Canadian Jay Esterer (McRae GM1.

Lining up against them is a full field of local drivers including Christchurch-based Lola T332 trio Tony Richards, Ian Clements and Stan Redmond, Blenheim's Russell Greer (Lola T332), Aucklanders Hamish Paterson (Chevron B32), Stuart Lush (McRae GM1), Andrew Higgins (Lola T400) and Kerry McIntosh (Begg FM2), and Rotorua's Brett Willis (Lola T330).

There will also be a lot of interest in the appearance in the class of former tin-top front-runners, Reg Cook (Lola T400) and Peter Sundberg (Lola T332). Not to mention that of Christchurch driver Phil Mauger in the ex Denny Hulme McLaren M23 Formula 1 car which will join the MSC F5000 series field this weekend.

The MSC F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series is organised and run with the support of sponsors MSC, NZ Express Transport, Bonney's Specialized Bulk Transport, Mobil Lubricants, Pacifica, Smith & Davies, Avon Tyres and Exide.


2010/11 MSC New Zealand F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series
Points after Rnd 4 of 6
1. Ken Smith (Lola T430) 175 points
2. Steve Ross (McRae GM1) 171
3. Michael Lyons (Lola T400) 151
4. Peter Dunn (March 73A) 121
5. Aaron Burson (McRae GM1) 119
6. Jay Esterer (McRae GM1) 106
7. Tony Richards (Lola T332) 92
8. Ian Clements (Lola T332) 89
9. Andrew Higgins (Lola T400) 84
10. Mark Dwyer (Lola T400) 77
11. Frank Lyons (Gurney-Eagle FA74) 61
12. Clark Proctor (March 73A) 60
13. Reg Cook (Lola T400) 59
14. Russell Greer (Lola T332) 43
15. Sefton Gibb (Lola T332) 41
16. Brett Willis (Lola T330) 39
17. Ron Maydon (Amon F101) 31
18. Michael Whatley (Surtees TS8) 29
19. David Abbott(Lola T430) 21
20. Greg Thornton (Chevron B24) 19
21. Peter Burson (McRae GM1) 13
22=. Tony Roberts (March 73A) 10
22=. Roger Williams (Lola T332)10
24. Peter Sundberg (Lola T332) 9
25. Kerry McIntosh (Begg FM2) 8
26. Stan Redmond (Lola T332) 7
27=. Stu Lush (McRae GM1) 6
27=. Alastair Russell (McRae GM1) 6
29=. Poul Christie (Lola T190) 5
29=. Hamish Paterson (Chevron B34) 5
31. Warwick Mortimer (Surtess TS5) 4

Class A:
1. Michael Whatley 169 points
2. Kerry McIntosh 114
3. Poul Christie 39
4. Warwick Mortimer 38

Rnd 1: Oct 30/31 2010 Christchurch Casino Wigram revival meeting Powerbuilt Tools Raceway @ Ruapuna Park Christchurch
Rnd 2: Jan 21-23 2011 NZ Festival of Motor Racing - Chris Amon meeting x 1 Hampton Downs Auckland
Rnd 3: Jan 28-30 2011 NZ Festival of Motor Racing - Chris Amon meeting x 2 Hampton Downs Auckland
Rnd 4: Feb 05/06 2011 Skope Classic meeting Powerbuilt Tools Raceway @ Ruapuna Park Christchurch
Rnd 5: Feb 19-20 2011 Evolution Motorsport Classic Speedfest meeting, Teretonga Park Invercargill
Rnd 6 (Final) March 25-27 2011 Qantas Australian Grand Prix March Albert Park Melbourne, Australia