Event Preview - Rnd 4 2009/10 MSC New Zealand F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series

After captivating the capacity crowd at the inaugural New Zealand Festival of Motor Racing meeting at the new Hampton Downs motor racing circuit last weekend, defending series champion Ken Smith (Lola T430) and his merry band of MSC New Zealand F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series men are set to feature again at the second Festival meeting at Pukekohe Park Raceway this weekend.

The format of the second New Zealand Festival of Motor Racing - Bruce McLaren meeting remains the same as the first with qualifying on Friday and races on Saturday and Sunday, with the final the longer Tasman Grand Prix feature.

After oversubscribed grids at the Hampton Downs meeting last weekend - where the MSC F5000s were joined by the two McLaren Formula 1 cars present - the field this weekend is a more manageable 30-strong with Hampton Downs winner Smith, from Auckland, joined in the favourite stakes by the winner of the first round of this season's MSC series, Chris Hyde from Christchurch (McRae GM1), and this year's Lady Wigram Trophy winner, Roger Williams from Auckland (Lola T332).

Joining them on the grid this weekend will be top fellow local drivers Steve Ross from Dunedin (McRae GM1), Ian Clements from Christchurch (Lola T332), Sefton Gibb from Napier (Lola T332), Aaron Burson from Auckland (McRae GM1) and Brett Willis from Rotorua (Lola T332)

The two New Zealand Festival of Motor Racing - Bruce McLaren meetings have also attracted a large contingent of drivers from overseas.

The largest group is from the UK consisting of Monaco-based Brit Peter Dunn (March 73A) and compatriots Mark Dwyer (Lola T332), Greg Thornton (Surtees TS11), Daryl Taylor (Chevron B28), Mike Whatley (Surtees TS8), and husband and wife pair Frank (Lola T400) and Judy (Gurney-Eagle FA74) Lyons.

Australia, meanwhile, will be represented by Aaron Lewis (Matich A50), Bill Hemming (Elfin MR8A-C), Phil Trevethan (Elfin MR6L) and Bruce Leeson (McLaren M10B).

After three of the six rounds of the 2009/10 MSC NZ F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series Steve Ross continues to head the series points standings with 181 points, 10 more than Ian Clements with defending series title holder Ken Smith back in third place on 145 points, just two points ahead of 2007/08 series winner Chris Hyde.

Auckland's Kerry McIntosh (Begg FM2), heads the Class A category (for earlier model cars) with 221 points, 26 more than fellow Poul Christie (Lola T190), and 48 more than third place fellow Aucklander Kerry Anderson (Lola T142).

The MSC F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series is organised and run with the support of sponsors MSC, NZ Express Transport, Bonney's Specialized Bulk Transport, Pacifica, Toll Holdings, Smith & Davies, Avon Tyres and Exide.